Posted on

St Anthony,Hammer of Heretics and Doctor of the Church

think St John Paul’s II canonization was too soon,too fast? Consider St Anthony of Padua.(Also known as the “Hammer of Heretics” )

He was made a Doctor of the Church by Pope Pius XII in 1946. He died: June 13, 1231 and was canonized: May 30, 1232, by Pope Gregory IX

Image

 

ImageEL GRECO

My father’s middle name was Anthony as well as my brothers.So he holds a special place in my heart.I just met our neighbor a few weeks ago and he told me had a painting of  a saint in his home. Not a religious man he wasn’t sure which one it was. Once he told me what the statue looked like  i surmised St Anthony of Padua. Then he showed me the painting-it was definitely him.I gave him a small bronze statue of Anthony and the child Jesus. It was meant for him.

 

 

About therasberrypalace

Catholic.conservative. Pro life.Period.

Leave a Reply

