Posted on

RESPONSE TO:Five Reasons I Reject the Doctrine of Transubstantiation

REASONS-AND RESPONSES-1 and 2. Reasons 3-5 in the next entry.
(the real presence of Christ in the Eucharist;body,blood,soul and DIVINITY)
Here are his reasons.his reasons will be italicized.i will separate the reasons, from my responses, with a divider:
1. It takes Christ too literally

There does not seem to be any reason to take Christ literally when he institutes the Eucharist with the words, “This is my body” and “This is my blood” (Matt. 26:26-28, et al). Christ often used metaphor in order to communicate a point. For example, he says “I am the door,” “I am the vine,” “You are the salt of the earth,” and “You are the light of the world” (Matthew 5:13-14) but people know that we don’t take such statement literally. After all, who believes that Christ is literally a door swinging on a hinge?

fancy64
He is 100% correct that Christ often used metaphor to communicate a point. He used parables as well. Jesus did say such things as “I AM the door”, “I AM the vine” etc.
REPLY:It’s true that Christ is not literally a door swinging on a hinge when he says “I am the door.”
The BIG difference at the Passover is that Jesus is not pointing to Himself when He proclaims this IS. He’s holding up the ELEMENTS of bread and wine and says this(BREAD AND WINE)IS.
2. It does not take Christ literally enough

Let’s say for the sake of the argument that in this instance Christ did mean to be taken literally. What would this mean? Well, it seems hard to escape the conclusion that the night before Christ died on the cross, when he said, “This is my body” and “This is my blood,” that it actually was his body and blood that night before he died. If this were the case, and Christ really meant to be taken literally, we have Christ, before the atonement was actually made, offering the atonement to his disciples. I think this alone gives strong support to a denial of any substantial real presence.

fancy64
REPLY:Here is what Jesus offered to the apostles that night.Note that it’s the ONLY time Jesus used the words New Covenant.I take it from the Gospel of Luke 22

And likewise the cup after they had eaten, saying, “This cup is the NEW COVENANT in my blood, which will be shed for you.

1 Corinthians 11:23 For I have received of the Lord that which also I delivered unto you, that the Lord Jesus, the same night in which he was betrayed, took bread. 24 And giving thanks, broke, and said: Take ye, and eat: this is my body, which shall be delivered for you: this do for the commemoration of me. 25 In like manner also the chalice, after he had supped, saying: This chalice is the new testament in my blood: this do ye, as often as you shall drink, for the commemoration of me. 26 For as often as you shall eat this bread, and drink the chalice, you shall shew the death of the Lord, until he come.

THE 4TH CUP, IT IS FINISHED

About therasberrypalace

Catholic.conservative. Pro life.Period.

Leave a Reply

